Elections

Canton is a General Law, Type A City.  Elections are held once a year, on the first Saturday in May.  Three council positions are open in even-numbered years and two council positions and the mayoral position are open in odd-numbered years.

Early voting is held at City Hall, 201 N. Buffalo, and election day voting is at the Canton Junior High Building at 1115 S. Buffalo (unless the CISD is cancelled).  If the CISD election is cancelled, the City's election will be held at Canton City Hall, 201 N. Buffalo, Canton.  The next general election date for mayor and two councilmembers will be Saturday, May 1, 2020.  Click here for Notice of Deadline to File Applications for Place on the Ballot.  Click here to obtain Candidate Packet.  

Correspondence to Council may be sent to City Hall, 201 N. Buffalo, Canton, TX  75103.  The phone number is 903-567-1841.

CURRENT ELECTED OFFICIALS:

1st Elected

               Email

Term Expires

Lou Ann Everett, Mayor 2015 leverett@cantontex.com 5/2021
Nathan Moore, Mayor Pro Tem 2015 nmoore@cantontex.com 5/2021
Blake Fowler, Councilmember 2020 bfowler@cantontx.gov 5/2022
Jim Fuller, Councilmember 2020 jfuller@cantontx.gov 5/2022
Randon Sumner, Councilmember 2019 rsumner@cantontex.com 5/2021
Chase Melton, Councilmember  2020  cmelton@cantontx.gov                  5/2022
                                                                                                                                                                                                    
For Information on Candidacy Filing for a Political Subdivision, click here.
For information on terms, qualifications and vacancies, please click here.
For answers to frequently asked questions about voting, please click here.
For an election calendar with relevant dates, please click here.

To register to vote, please contact the Van Zandt County Clerk (903) 567-6503 on the second floor of the Van Zandt County Courthouse (on the town square).