Elections

Canton is a General Law, Type A City.  Elections are held once a year, on the first Saturday in May.  Three council positions are open in even-numbered years and two council positions and the mayoral position are open in odd-numbered years.

The next election was scheduled for May 2, 2020 for three councilmembers.     It was postponed by Council until November 3, 2020.

                                                                                             
The election date in 2021 will be on Saturday, May 1.

Early voting is held at City Hall, 201 N. Buffalo, and election day voting is at the Canton Junior High Building at 1115 S. Buffalo (unless the CISD is cancelled).  If the CISD election is cancelled, the City's election will be held at Canton City Hall, 201 N. Buffalo, Canton.

Correspondence to Council may be sent to City Hall, 201 N. Buffalo, Canton, TX  75103.  The phone number is 903-567-1841.

CURRENT ELECTED OFFICIALS:

Email

Term Expires

Lou Ann Everett, Mayor leverett@cantontex.com 5/2021
Nathan Moore, Mayor Pro Tem nmoore@cantontex.com 5/2021
Daniel Deibert, Councilmember ddeibert@cantontex.com 5/2020
Cindy Malouf, Councilmember cmalouf@cantontex.com 5/2020
Randon Sumner, Councilmember rsumner@cantontex.com 5/2021
Andrew Vaughn, Councilmember avaughn@cantontex.com 5/2020
 

NOTICE OF ELECTION for November 3, 2020, election

Notice of Deadline to File Applications for Place on the Ballot 

Notice of Drawing for Place on the Ballot

For Information on Candidacy Filing for a Political Subdivision, click here.
For information on terms, qualifications and vacancies, please click here.
For answers to frequently asked questions about voting, please click here.
For an election calendar with relevant dates, please click here.

 

To register to vote, please contact the Van Zandt County Clerk (903) 567-6503 on the second floor of the Van Zandt County Courthouse (on the town square).