Elections

Elections

INTERNET POSTING REQUIREMENTS FOR POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS

Canton is a General Law, Type A City.  Elections are held once a year, on the first Saturday in May.  Three council positions are open in even-numbered years and two council positions and the mayoral position are open in odd-numbered years.
The next general election will be Saturday, May 3, 2025.  


Correspondence to Council may be sent to City Hall, 201 N. Buffalo, Canton, TX  75103.  The phone number is 903-567-1841.

CURRENT ELECTED OFFICIALS

1st Year Elected

Email

Term Expires

Lou Ann Everett, Mayor 2015 leverett@cantontex.com 5/2025
Blake Fowler, Mayor Pro Tem 2020 bfowler@cantontx.gov 5/2026
Cassidy Henderson, Councilmember
2023
chenderson@cantontx.gov
5/2025
Jim Fuller, Councilmember 2020 jfuller@cantontx.gov 5/2026
Randon Sumner, Councilmember 2019 rsumner@cantontex.com 5/2025
Chase Melton, Councilmember  2020  cmelton@cantontx.gov 5/2024

For Information on Candidacy Filing for a Political Subdivision, click here.
For information on terms, qualifications and vacancies, please click here.
For answers to frequently asked questions about voting, please click here.
For an election calendar with relevant dates, please click here.
For Exemptions to Voting Accessibility Requirements, please click here.

To register to vote, please contact the Van Zandt County Clerk (903) 567-7555 on the second floor of the Van Zandt County Courthouse (on the town square).

Welcome to Canton, Texas

Learn More