The City of Canton is a General Law A city which was incorporated in 1919 as a Municipality by Van Zandt County. Canton uses a Council/manager form of government whose mission is to meet its residents' needs with the highest quality of service.

The Mayor and City Council form a 6-member body elected by the citizens of Canton to set laws and regulations governing the City of Canton. The Mayor votes only in the case of a tie vote among the five Council members. The Council meets on the third Tuesday of each month in public meetings to debate and set local legislation. Councilmembers are elected at large (city-wide) for two-year terms. Council members are governed by the Local Government Code of the State of Texas.

The City Council is responsible for developing policy and the City Manager is responsible for implementing those policies. The City Manager supervises all other city employees.

The City of Canton is independent from the Canton Independent School District and other government agencies, including Van Zandt County, the State of Texas, and any federal agencies.

Welcome to Canton, Texas

Learn More